Steinhouse, Tobie

Tobie Steinhouse was born in Montreal. She first studied art with Anne Savage. She obtained a diploma at Sir George Williams University (now Concordia University) in engineering drawing and worked as a draughtsman on the war training planes, during the latter days of the Second World War in 1944 and 1945.

She then left for New York to study at the famous Student’s Art League for the next two years and then onto Paris, France where she lived and worked as an artist for the following ten years. In Paris she studied briefly at L’École des Beaux-Arts de Paris, at la Grande Chaumière, and with the painter Arpad Szenes. She exhibited in many important “salons” such as the Salon de L’ Automne, the Salon de la Jeune Peinture and the Salon de L’Art Libre. She had her first solo exhibition at the Galerie Lara Vincy in Paris in 1957, later she studied etching and engraving at the famous Atelier 17 with William Hayter.

Returning to Montreal, she was a founding member of La Guilde Graphique and L’Atelier Libre de Recherches Graphiques. She became a member of the Canadian Group of Painters and was the last president before it was dissolved. She was elected to the Royal Canadian Academy of Arts in 1972.

Steinhouse, Tobie

Tobie Steinhouse est née à Montréal. Elle y étudie d’abord avec Anne Savage. Elle obtient ensuite un diplôme en dessin technique à Sir George Williams University (maintenant l’Université Concordia) et a travaillé comme dessinatrice dans les plans de formation de guerre, pendant les derniers jours de la seconde guerre mondiale en 1944 et 1945.

Après la guerre, elle part alors pour New York étudier à la célèbre Student Art League pour deux ans, puis à Paris, où elle a vécu et travaillé en tant qu’artiste pour les dix années suivantes. Elle étudie brièvement à L’école des Beaux-Arts de Paris, à la Grande Chaumière et avec le peintre Arpad Szenes. Pendant ce temps, elle a exposé aussi dans de nombreux « salons » importants tels que le Salon de L’ Automne, le Salon de la Jeune Peinture et le Salon de L’ Art Libre. Elle a eu sa première exposition solo à la Galerie Lara Vincy à Paris en 1957, plus tard elle étudie la gravure au célèbre Atelier 17 avec William Hayter.

De retour à Montréal, elle a été membre fondateur de La Guilde Graphique et L’Atelier Libre de Recherches Graphiques. Elle s’est jointe auCanadian Group of Painters et en a été la dernière présidente avant sa dissolution. Elle a été élue à l’Académie royale des Arts en 1972

.